Month: April 2009

  • Where the Green Things Are

    This is a long shot of the Northeast fence in the back corner where I

    have been very busy this spring adding new things.

    The Mammoth Elephant Ears are coming along and

    will fill the entire length & height of fence shown above.

    Dead Nettle at the feet of the Elephant ears will add color and texture to the area.

    Just to the left of the back gate there is a very happy Rice Paper Plant.

    This is a return player that I was glad to see made it through the unpredictable

    temperature changes we've had the last 6 to 8 weeks.

    Calla Lilies along the back fence.

    This is their second season & I'm quite surprised by their heartiness.

    I made no special provisions for the bulbs and were quite close to the surface

    until I put a new layer of hardwood mulch over the area a few weeks ago.

    They are much later than last year but here they are!

    We'll see in a few weeks if they manage to bloom.

    Cosmos along the stone path coming off the patio.

    These are coming up from last year's seeds & I'm pleased to

     have them flanking the end of the path again this season.

    Ornamental Milkweed in a pot on the deck.

    This is a return player as well, that recieved no special winter treatments.

    I just pruned it back to an inch of stalk above the soil and left the pot on the deck

    exposed to the elements. She is well on her way to another spectacular showing.

    Images By RnBoW

  • How You Can Prevent The Swine Flu

    When I came back from lunch today, our little animated

    friend was posted in lots of high traffic areas at work.

    While this is a catchy promotion & gets the message across,

    I think it's a bit elementary for the workplace!

    Our behavior and the jokes were right in line with this underaged campaign.

    I'm sure "Doing the Dirty Hand Wash" will be a top 40 hit!

    Click here to listen to the smash tune & to learn more!

  • Stella & Friends

    Stella D'Oro Daylily

    These are always the first to bloom &

     they make me wish for the other Daylilies to come!

    Ranunculus

    Here's one approximately 40 days after planting.

    I am pleased with the progess so far & can't wait to see these bloom!

    Double Begonia

    This lovely lady came from a little greenhouse in a 'burb nearby that I visited on Saturday.

    The deep green foliage & bright blooms are a welcome addition to the back porch.

    A pair of red Dahlias came home to flank each side of the deck steps.

    As well as a pair of Impatiens for the front porch steps.

    Here's a view of the front left flowerbed.

    Ranunculus in front, Green Mound Juniper in the center & seven Tuscan Blue Rosemary as the beginning of a hedge in back.

    I'll have to get more to fill in the gaps to make for a quicker hedgerow.

    I received my seeds from Seed Savers Exchange & here's a sneak peek!

    Of course, I will be busy with planting in the next few days

    & I will keep everyone posted on their progress!

    Images By RnBoW

  • This is the sign you wish you

    posted in the breakroom at work...

    nataliedee.com
    nataliedee.com
     
    ...And this is the roadway prank you wish you thought of first!

  • EARTH DAY

    My contribution to making it a better place?

    I ordered 2,615 seeds from 

    Seed Savers Exchange

    Click the hyperlink above for more info

    This is a catalog which supports a cooperative of gardeners & farmers who wish to pass on the legacy of heirloom & hybrid seeds to others. 

    I recieved a membership as a Christmas gift & I am excited to see if these flowers & vegetables will flourish here at RnBoW House.

  • Are You Ready To Go Down Under?

    I got a pair of these clever Down Under Pots as Christmas gift 

    & decided to try Dragon Blood Seedum in them.

    I had to be patient with these because once planted, the recommended wait time

    for proper rooting before hanging upside down is a minimum of 3 weeks

    & even longer for succulents!

    Approximately six weeks later they are now flanking the back door & will hopefully provide an interesting welcome to the rest of the garden.

    Images By RnBoW

  • Mystery Plant?

    Calling all gardners!

    I've got another heirloom plant game for you to play!

    This is a volunteer that came up in the garden around the Mulberry stump once the area was exposed to sunlight. She is an evergreen but stunts back a bit in winter. It has doubled in size since last spring. It does not seem to be presenting as a vine/creeper.

    Any suggestions?

    Images by RnBoW

Recent Posts

Categories